CHATEAU DE BRISSAC

Seen from the vast lawns of the Romantic-style parkland, the façades of the Château de Brissac are a striking sight. The huge towers and fortified bases, vestiges of the feudal period, enclose a classical building to form an asymmetric yet elegant monumental façade which faces the rising sun. Brissac tells the story of a family which never left its native land of Anjou. Since the time of René de Cossé, the first lord of the castle in the early 16C, more than 20 generations have succeeded one another, taking pride in protecting and embellishing the château, adding to its collections and maintaining its decor. The castle is now the residence of the 13th Duke of Brissac.

ESSENTIALS


The Romantic parkland


This park, which took its inspiration from the Romantic period, offers visitors numerous walks from which they can admire the castle. The poetically named walks (the mausoleum avenue, Jeanne Say’s waterfall, the gardener’s house, five-hundred-year-old vineyard etc) evoke the memory of the men and women who have loved this site over the centuries.

 


The estate wines


The castle’s vineyards, true to the wine-making traditions of the Angevin region, produce a light Rosé d’Anjou wine which is full of flavour. The wine can be tasted in the paved wine cellars and allows visitors to the castle to take home a convivial souvenir of their stay in the Loire Valley. 






Brissac village


A charming village which nestles in the hillside dominated by Saint Vincent church (dedicated to the patron saint of wine producers), Brissac offers a tranquil atmosphere with its old narrow streets, vegetable gardens and tufa-stone houses. The picturesque winding descent along the main street leads to the entrance to the castle grounds, linking the history of the village with that of its castle in a natural, almost protective way. 

HIDDEN TREASURE



Opera House


What an amazing sight greets the visitor who pushes open the door and enters the theatre at Brissac! The result of the ambitious dreams of Jeanne Say – Marchioness of Brissac – this theatre dedicated to opera hosted an opera festival from 1890 to 1916, when artists and members of Paris’ high society were entertained by the owner of the castle, herself a talented soprano.

 


The underground canal


250m long, this ingenious work of civil engineering made it possible in times of flooding to divert the waters of the Aubance river, which crossed the castle grounds, in order to prevent the flowerbeds from flooding. Skilfully illuminated, the intact schist vault is reflected in the water of its slate canal.

 

SAUMUR
 
 
 
ANGERS